I am a Golden God.
1:18 p.m. || 2004-06-29

Yeah, so Almost Famous sucked ass, but it's a great quote even if it came from a crappy movie. It's my birthday today and I ALWAYS feel like the King of the World on my birthday. It was like being in grade school and having to 'choose' teams. I was always one of the first two or three chosen. Why? Because I have a cannon for an arm. Call me a dork in 1st period math?? Too bad for you because in 5th period P.E. I'm going to leave a red whelp on your face you'll carry for three days. It's called dodgeball kid and I was good at it. Kickball during recess? Don't try to take an extra base because I'd knock your legs right out from under you.

I loved those games. I'm such a little kid it's not even funny. Except I started to realize this weekend that I'm not a little kid anymore. I'm not talking about me being fat and lazy and my hair falling out. That's been going on for awhile now. No, I'm really saying that for the first time this weekend I realized that I'm not little. As in small, tiny, pequeno... I've always thought I was a runt. Mostly because I am the runt. At least in my family. My dad goes about 6'5", 380 so I think I had a skewed sense of what was big when I was growing up. I hit high school at about 5'3", 175, kinda dumpy and fat. I managed to stretch to about 6'1" or 6'2", 190 by the time I graduated. I mention all of this because I ran into some of my high school football teammates this Saturday at the bar. Some of my linemen. The guys that were supposed to protect my scrawny ass from getting pummeled. They sucked at it. They made every defense look like the stinkin' 78 Broncos Orange Crush. I now know why. They were tiny! Wee little people! I'm not saying they were achonrdoplastic dwarves, but to me they didn't seem far off. And the look on their face said the same thing. Now, I've grown a little since high school, and I check in about 6'4", 220 but this is the first time in my life I've had such a startling realization (Eds. Note: in order to bring myself back to earth I should point out that my 13 year old brother is already bigger than me).

I almost felt like standing on a table and screaming, "My little boy is all grows up!"

Now, let me go back to being THE Son (sun?), for all the worlds revolve around me!

Love (on?) me and worship me (not you Judd) because it is my birthday.

Later...

Older Lies||Younger Lies

Wanna know how to scare your ex? - 2005-03-12
Maybe I am not the sickest person out there. - 2005-02-23
I'm out of my funk and I'm not talking about hygiene. - 2005-02-11
Ding Dong the Sports Season is Dead. - 2005-02-07
Wow, is this thing still on? - 2005-01-31

1:18 p.m. || 2004-06-29


Current
Archives
Profile
Guestbook
Notes
Email
Layout
Host

ABOUT ME
I'm 28, tired of working and avoiding the real world by returning to school to seek advanced degrees.

LOVES
College Athletics and the Great Outdoors

HATES
The NBA

Rings
JoeCartoon Approved Diary Rings

Commenting by HaloScan.com