It is a lonely time of year...
4:07 p.m. || 2004-12-22

Notice I didn't say I was lonely, only that it is a lonely time of the year. I'm about 1000 miles from what I consider "home" and yet, being 28 years old I suppose if I was truthful with myself, this is home. I mean, home is where the heart is, right? ...and since some years ago I stole some very expensive equipment out of a hospital, I know that my heart is in my chest, and my chest is in Lawrence, Kansas. Now my liver on the other hand... he got pretty pissed at me for a certain amount of tequila and assorted fruity shit that I was drinking the other night and he went on strike. He's a whiny little bitch, but he'll come back just like always.

The truth is, I am alone here. Well, me and all the Asian exchange students. They're still here too. But my roommate went home, and most of the other people that I get into trouble with went home, and I kinda like it. It's nice. It's soothing. Nobody is stressing over finals or talking about "important" world events. (Eds. Note: Nowhere on earth will you find more people who are more convinced of their own self importance than in a law school. Every thought that has ever crossed their mind is obviously so important that they should share it, and loudly, with everyone around them.)

For example... This morning I woke up about 8:30, made a big pot of Folgers coffee, cooked 4 eggs, 4 biscuits and 4 good hunks of sausage. I then applied some honey, and ate my breakfast on the couch while watching SportsCenter. This is a day without people.

My last day with people went a little bit different. A friend was having a party at his apartment. Nothing too fancy, just a couple of kegs, and us letting go of our stresses. Except it's never that simple... Noooo... some people that live downstairs and were having a party in their apartment got small penis syndrome because we had more people over, or something stupid like that. So they decided to come crash our party. Drink our beer, and then retire back to their party. Pretty good logic, and we probably wouldn't have cared except they decided to smoke in our apartment. This is clearly a no, no. When this was pointed out to them, they decided it was time to "kick a little law school ass." This, mind you, coming from a Napoleonic fireplug that must have been at least 5'7".

This is not relaxing.

...and yet, I always find myself in the middle of these things. We ask them to leave, cooler heads finally prevail and they retire back to their party. For about 4 minutes. At this point, they cooly stroll back up and, assuming we are brain dead, introduce themselves as if we didn't just ask them to leave, and proceed to attempt to go back inside.

Here is bad thing #2 about being around law students. They know the rules. Not the rules to fighting, or fair play, but the rules of the law. They know what gets you put in jail, and what simply gets a finger shaken in your face. They know that words are not 'assault' and they know at what point they can hit you and get in no trouble whatsoever for it. And clearly, two of my friends were looking for that very point. And these two friends conveniently station themselves over my right and left shoulder respectively so that when they're on their tiptoes they can see our lilliputian foe. And then they egg him on. Bastards. Hide behind me and then beg him to take a punch.

As it turns out, despite my best efforts, and the best efforts of Mini-Me's friends, he did take a swing. Luckily for me he was so stone drunk that it wasn't much of a move and I just shoved him away. But before the little bastard got too far away I let my guard down and he kicked me right in the shin. ...and it hurt. And that, is the anatomy of my latest night out with the boys.

So no, I'm not lonely... I'm simply relaxing.



School closes tomorrow and I lose my computer access, so I hope you all have a great Christmas and a Happy New Year! I'll be back, shortly after the Aggies beat the Hell Outta Tennessee!! Whoop!

Later...

Older Lies||Younger Lies

Wanna know how to scare your ex? - 2005-03-12
Maybe I am not the sickest person out there. - 2005-02-23
I'm out of my funk and I'm not talking about hygiene. - 2005-02-11
Ding Dong the Sports Season is Dead. - 2005-02-07
Wow, is this thing still on? - 2005-01-31

4:07 p.m. || 2004-12-22


Current
Archives
Profile
Guestbook
Notes
Email
Layout
Host

ABOUT ME
I'm 28, tired of working and avoiding the real world by returning to school to seek advanced degrees.

LOVES
College Athletics and the Great Outdoors

HATES
The NBA

Rings
JoeCartoon Approved Diary Rings

Commenting by HaloScan.com